Posted by: stevealbers | March 24, 2009

Back in the day…

So while I am striving to get better at blogging here… this isn’t my first rodeo.  I, like many people, got started blogging on Myspace. I haven’t updated that blog in quite some time, besides to promote my new blog anyway, but thought I’d share a couple of “gems.”

Gem #1:

June 21, 2007 • Thursday

Trip recap
Category: Travel and Places

So I posted this last night, but it doesn’t show up now… not sure what happened there.

Got into Long Beach about 4pm local time yesterday.  Got in early to be the rush hour, and it worked out pretty well. Basically the drive yesterday was through the scrub-lands of Utah and the deserts of California.  Not exactly enthralling scenery, but watching the thermometer climb to around 106 was “fun”.

As promised, a few photos from the trip… the better ones are posted in my photo album though.

I-90 on the way to the Black Hills:

Badlands National Park:

-The park is located on a loop off of I-90 from the Interior exit to the Wall exit.  There are a few places where you can get out and walk onto the rock formations. It is definitely a must-see on a trip to the Black Hills.

Custer State Park:

-This park is home of the Needles Highway and a buffalo that was interested in getting an upclose look at my car.

Crazy Horse Memorial:

-I’ve been to the Black Hills twice before, but had yet to make it to this place. You can’t get too close (without paying a lot more anyway), but there is a nice viewing deck. They also have a museum, theater, gift shop, and restaurant located on the premises.

Tuesday’s Drive (Wyoming/Utah)

:

Arizona Interstate (Wednesday):

-Probably about the most exciting part of the day yesterday…

So it looks like I’ll have access to the ol’ interweb/tubes here at the house… so I might be adding more later. Hopefully this one will show up this time. In the mean time, check out the other photos I’ve posted.

Hard to believe it was almost 2 years ago! I still think about that drive at least twice a week. The feeling of freedom, being out on the open road and not having a set itinerary was incredible. Knowing this, it also makes sense why I liked the movie “Into the Wild” so much too.

Gem#2:

I reviewed each of Rolling Stone’s top 100 songs of 2006 (seems absurd now)

#1-25 here #26-50 here #51-75 here #76-100 here

Hopefully my blog will continue to improve and eventually get more than 4 people to read it… but in the meantime, feel free to peruse the older selections.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

Categories

