Posted by: stevealbers | March 18, 2010

The New Obsession

image

For my birthday, Mariam gave me a portable record player. Considering that I owned one vinyl album prior to this gift (Pearl Jam – Vitalogy) and I received a few along with the player… of course I had some work to do.

From ebay to swap meets to Fingerprints (awesome Long Beach record store), I have quickly grown my collection to over 25 records over the past month.

So far I’ve been adding classics (a lot of Springsteen, Tom Petty, Doobie Bros., etc) and some newer releases (Broken Bells, SSPU, The National, etc.). I’m sure I’ll continue to add different pieces to the collection… it just depends on what (and how much). There is something cool and special about dropping the needle to the vinyl…

How about you… into records? Favorites? I’m always open for suggestions. 🙂

Responses

  1. I happen to like seasame street’s “a very merry un-birthday to you” haha

    • I forgot about the personalized Sesame Street 45’s that we each had. Wonder if they’re still around?


Leave a Reply

Categories

